Hypersensitive is the word that best describes me

Photo by Suraphat Nuea-on on Pexels.com
Daily writing prompt
What is one word that describes you?

One could best place me among the hypersensitive types. Since childhood, I was very sensitive and attracted far too many things.

Even when I watch a film, tears can roll down my cheeks. A lot of things I can’t control nevertheless affect me to the extent that I sometimes get frustrated. On the other hand, my sensitivity made it easy to empathise with a role, so I could play a convincing role on the scene as well as in the film.

Putting everything on so much also made me wish to help everywhere, which is impossible, however. Still, I tried to help as much as I could wherever I could. Now I have already become a bit more aware of my many limitations and try to live with the fact that I cannot offer as much help everywhere as I would like. Beggars used to come at me like flies, but my wife soon managed to put a stop to that.

Because my sensitivity was also visible or known by others, several people tried to abuse it or undermine me with it, in which they often succeeded, because I became totally paralysed.

In managing my ballet company, during my ballet mastery in the company of others, in teaching, I always wished to do the best for “my dancers” and protect their bodies as much as possible, so that they could dance and stay healthy for as long as possible. Their work for the company was everything to me, and like a father, I always tried to be there for them, but also to wish them well when they left us.

Coming and going are part of life. Such things therefore stirred me and still affect my soul.

Today, I have become a bit calmer than before and I am also more aware of my limitations in my ability to assist or help others. Performing foolish cures of very expensive shipments to needy regions is no longer an option.

My heart has also sent me serious signals that I need to slow down a bit. Even though it will not always be easy to slow down, but the engine has made it feel that it has become a bit overworked.

Now most of my attention goes to the church community I am trying to build in Belgium. There, too, I am regularly confronted with people with difficulties of all kinds. As much as possible, I try to do my best in this small community and for refugees here, while still generally standing up for the weak, both human and animal, in the whole world.

Photo by Maarten van den Heuvel on Pexels.com

About Marcus Ampe

Retired dancer, choreographer, choreologist Founder of the Dance impresario office and archive: Danscontact-Dansarchief plus the Association for Bible scholars, the Lifestyle magazines "Stepping Toes" and "From Guestwriters" and creator of the site "Messiah for all". - Gepensioneerd danser, choreograaf, choreoloog. Stichter van Danscontact-Dansarchief plus van de Vereniging voor Bijbelvorsers, de Lifestyle magazines "Stepping Toes" en "From Guestwriters" en maker van de site "Messiah for all".
This entry was posted in Ballet + Dance/Dans, Dagboek = Diary, Education, Environment and Ecology, Welfare and Health, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to react - Voel vrij om te reageren

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.