I registered on WordPress.com 13 years ago

Today I got the message

Happy Anniversary with WordPress.com!
You registered on WordPress.com 13 years ago.
Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging.

 

Some think 13 is an unlucky number. I’ve had enough “malheur” this summer, so I’m looking at some more luck now.

2010 December 6, 1° article placed on WordPress site

After I opened on the last day of December 2006 with “Opening“, it took some years before I came to WordPress.

On December the 6th I greeted the WordPress community, with “Hello World” and “Hallo Wereld“. It was the beginning of myself having to end some Spaces and with A move in Spaces entering the world of the content management system WordPress, first with Marcus Ampe’s Space, trying the system out, whilst I still kept Blogspot.

In my first year on WordPress (2010), I got 3.988 views, followed by not such-a bad year, getting 14.047 views. Then it took until 2018 before again having some high figures, namely 15.763 views. The cyphers decreased, but that can also be because I wrote much more on my other websites. Last year I got 4.398 visitors and this year only 4.135 visitors, making up for a total of 101.137 views.

I must also admit that (strangely for myself) I did get a lot more personal on this site this year, as I had provided a space with Some View on the World to go deeper into the day’s events.

For this personal site, I have 343 subscribers, which, to be honest, I do not consider many.
Though, on my latest site “Some View on the World” I only have 107 subscribers. There I got for its first year, in 2021 2.036 views, with a peak in 2022 reaching 6.706 and offering but a very frustrating 3.392 views up to today for 2023, making up for 9.103 views for 6.248 posts people can find on that site, which had a 4150 articles transferred from my Blogspot Blogger account.

Our World New Name for Christadelphian World 2014 March 14

Some View on the World, its original counterpart got already 2.245.719 views up to now, for 4.156 postings between 24 November 2005 and 3 October 2021, when I invited people to reconnect with WordPress. (316K views for the last year on Our World.)

My From Guestwriters site with its 3.708 articles up to today, I commenced in 2014, retrieving at that time 3.124 views. Coronatime was on all of my sites the best time, probably numerous people having more time to sit on the internet and spending time to read. 32. 679 view for 2020. This year it only got a low of 5.294, making up for 101.215 views.

For me, my Christian or church websites are the most important.

Renewed Christadelphian ecclesia site from November 2-7, 2015 (Cerauno theme variation with green on Novemer 2)

My Belgian Christadelphian ecclesia site, Ecclesia Brussel-Leuven where 2,536 posts were published between 2010 and today, started with 243 views in its first year. Today it totals 167.525 views.

christadelphiansMy Brethren in Christ – Broeders in Christus site got on its way on WordPress in 2011 fetching 711 views. Up to today for the 759 posts it got 74.778 views.

On request, to have a typical Dutch-language website alongside our brothers in the Netherlands, I created, as the latest addition, the Belgian Brothers in Christ website: Belgische Broeders in Christus in 2021. In its first year getting 523 views. Up until now, only 145 posts have been published, making up for 2.344 views.

The website where you are now reading this review article, among many other websites that I write for, is really just meant to be a personal “doodle” site. So actually it serves more as a “personal journal” instead of a “daily blog”, which others are free to have a look at.

Even if it is just to put down a personal thought, I must honestly admit that I would have wished for a bit more readers for certain articles, both here and on certain other sites. (We usually write to be read, don’t we?)

Who knows, maybe things will improve after a while. So, on this 13th anniversary, I am heading for better times with more readers.

All the best, and hope to see you again!

+

Preceding

Hello world!

A move in Spaces

Internet absurdities

Historical Ziegfeld and other Multiply Groups

20 years at the personal computer

Journal for and from bothered citizens

Changing screens

2013 Lifestyle, religiously and spiritualy

A new voice calling for peace

Looking for Free Blogs and blogging

Refurbished ecclesia site

Five years on WordPress

From old times and sites to new linkings

From MSN Groups and MSN Spaces via Multiply to Blogspot now transferring to WordPress

Much news — and too many voices

WordPress appears to have fallen off its best horse

A Classic Editor versus Block Editor

WordPress forces us to use Block editor

WordPress or Jetpack

Or love your job …. Or change job

 

+++

Related

About Reaching readers

  1. Writer’s Problem
  2. What is ‘good’ writing?
  3. 50 Ways To Reach Your Reader #6: Newsletters & Mailing Lists
  4. Reaching Readers: An Interview with Alastair Horne
  5. So how on earth do you reach new readers with social media?
  6. Self publishers – how to reach your future readers…… tips and
  7. Pros and Cons of Self Publishing
  8. Helpful Blog Posts – May 2013
  9. 100,000 Books In The Hands Of Readers
  10. Overwhelming Genre Choices
  11. Diversifying for Discoverability?
  12. RSVP: Decoding Social Media
  13. Do Readers Care about Your Rants?
  14. There is Room for All of Us
  15. Writer’s Pledge
  16. What Did You Say?

About Marcus Ampe

Retired dancer, choreographer, choreologist Founder of the Dance impresario office and archive: Danscontact-Dansarchief plus the Association for Bible scholars, the Lifestyle magazines "Stepping Toes" and "From Guestwriters" and creator of the site "Messiah for all". - Gepensioneerd danser, choreograaf, choreoloog. Stichter van Danscontact-Dansarchief plus van de Vereniging voor Bijbelvorsers, de Lifestyle magazines "Stepping Toes" en "From Guestwriters" en maker van de site "Messiah for all".
This entry was posted in Announcement, Dagboek = Diary, History, News and Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I registered on WordPress.com 13 years ago

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Happy Blogiversary!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Long time to search, find and to become – Some View on the World

Feel free to react - Voel vrij om te reageren

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.